Mistissini Youth to Receive Award

On October 28, 2015, Cree Youth from Mistissini will receive an award of ‘Special Recognition’ from the Nuclear-Free Future Award Foundation, for their work in banning uranium exploration, mining, and waste storage in their territory. The Nuclear-Free Future Award honors those who have worked to rid the world of uranium mining, nuclear power, and nuclear weapons and has been presented annually since 1998. The award is given by the Nuclear-Free Future Foundation, which was founded by Franz Moll to help facilitate a paradigm shift in attitudes towards nuclear activities. 

The ceremony will be held in Washington DC on October 28 and will see the following awards given out:

Sister Megan Rice, Michael Walli and Greg Boertje-Obed (Resistance). In an act of passive civil disobedience, they gained entry to the Y-12 U.S. nuclear weapons complex in Oak Ridge, TN, were arrested on site, tried, imprisoned and released earlier this year.

Cornelia Hesse-Honegger (Education).  Her work illustrates deformities and mutations in the insect realm caused by exposure to radiation from nuclear power accidents and radioactive releases.  

The Honorable Tony deBrum (Solutions).  As Foreign Secretary of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the site of 67 Cold War atomic tests, he has led efforts to get the nine nuclear weapons states to fulfill their disarmament duties under the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.  

Ambassador Alexander Kmentt (Special Recognition).  As Austria’s Director of Arms Control, Nonproliferation and Disarmament at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he has been instrumental in Austria’s international leadership in demanding the nuclear weapons nations fully disarm their nuclear arsenals and for a global ban on nuclear weapons.

Cree Youth of Mistissini – Shawn Iserhoff, Justice Debassige, and Kayleigh Spencer (Special Recognition). Youth members of the Mistissini Cree First Nation in Quebec Province, Canada, led a successful campaign to ban uranium exploration, mining and waste storage on their land in Northern Quebec.


We would like to take a moment to congratulate our youth on this honor and applaud them in their efforts to protect our land and all that it gives to us. If you want to tune into the event, it will be broadcast over Livestream on Oct 28, 2015 from the following link:


We also spoke with Justice Debassige about the process involved in the youth's fight against Uranium and his thoughts about the upcoming award, you can listen to the interview below.